Ted’s Bulletin

26 Mar

There are few things I love more than a good brunch.  I’m a huge breakfast food fan, but my stomach doesn’t generally wake up until 11:30 am or later.  Brunch is the perfect solution. 

I recently went with my sister, RB, Nancy and Dan to Ted’s Bulletin for brunch.  I’d been hearing rave reviews about the place, and decided a trip to Eastern Market was in order because of the Spring-like  weather that day.   

All I have to say is thank goodness my sis a) got there early to put in our name and b) that the company and people-watching were stellar.  We had to wait forever for our table.  I mean forever in The Sandlot sense, FORE EV VER!  During the wait we chatted, watched a parade of unique fashion choices, and drooled over the homemade pastries in the window.

After about an hour, we started to narrow down our brunch entrees.  Ted’s has one of those menus where everything sounds outrageously delicious and it becomes more difficult to decide the longer you stare at the menu.

By the time we actually sat down (almost 2 hours later), I had mentally ordered 75% of the menu.  The only thing I knew was that I needed to sample one of their famed Milkshakes.  There are two varieties of shakes, traditional and grown up shakes.  All adult shakes include liquor of some sort to compliment the flavors of the shakes and the hangovers of the diners.  I went with the S’mores Shake and it was divine.  Feast your eyes on this!  Pure fluff heaven.

All five of us foolishly decided to order our own shakes, because frankly we were famished.  All of them were fantastic and huge!  We vowed to share them next time to leave room for our food.  At that point in the day, I opted for lunch brunch and the Short Rib Sandwich.  The tender sandwich was served on white bread with white cheddar, arugula, red wine mayo and massive onion rings.  I’m going through a major short rib phase and each bite was mouth-watering bliss!  The onion rings were thick and had a nice crusty bite to them. 

We started the meal with our dessert, so had to end it with creamy, gooey, golden-crumb topped Mac & Cheese.  Bless you Nancy!  She was kind enough to share it with the whole table.  The rest of us wanted to try it as soon as it came to the table.  We started off asking politely “do you mind if I try some of your mac & cheese?”  By the end of the meal we were all fighting over the goodness with our forks.

Ted’s Bulletin did not disappoint!  The food and milkshakes were wonderful.  The restaurant decor and theme is fun.  Also, props to our waiter for knowing how we needed to order our dishes, even when we didn’t.  My only complaint was the wait, but it seems silly to penalize a great place because it’s too popular.  Just remember to make a reservation and do not go hungry.  Overall Rating A. 

Leave a Reply

