Roasted Squash and Carrot Soup

18 Oct

This recipe smells, looks and tastes of Fall!  It started off with my standard roasted squash recipe.  I take an acorn squash and a butternut squash and cut both of them in half.  Then brushed the halves with a combination of brown sugar, rosemary and olive oil, and roast it for 35 minutes at 300 degrees. 

Usually I’m happy just eating the roasted squash on its own, but after two days I needed another way to use up my leftovers. 

So I decided this was the perfect time to try out my new immersion blender (my new one true love) and whip up a fallish soup.  This soup has it all, sweet and savory with a hint of spice.

Roasted Squash and Carrot Soup (serves 6)

  • 1 roasted acorn squash (see recipe above), chopped
  • 1 roasted butternut squash (same), chopped
  • 2 lbs carrots, chopped
  • 2 medium onions, chopped
  • 1 qt of chicken stock
  • 2 tsp garlic, chopped
  • 1 tbs garam masala
  • 2 tbs olive oil

Heat olive oil over medium high heat and add chopped onions and carrots.  Season with salt and pepper, and cook over medium high heat for 20 minutes.  Add squash and garlic to the pot with your onion and carrots, cook for five minutes.  Add chicken stock to pot and reduce heat to medium.  Cook for 30 minutes.  Check to make sure your veggies are tender and can easily be pierced with a fork.  If so, take out your fabulous immersion blender (or let cool a few minutes and pour into regular ole blender), and puree mixture gradually.  Stop periodically to stir the soup in between rounds of blending. Once the soup is completely blended, season again with salt and pepper and then stir in garam masala

2 Responses to “Roasted Squash and Carrot Soup”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Roasted Squash, Carrot and Spinach Lasagna « Imperfectly Delicious - October 23, 2011

    […] came home and was craving some veggies for dinner.  I stared at the frozen remains of my Roasted Squash and Carrot Soup looking for inspiration and had a food epiphany!  I quickly headed to the store for my final […]

  2. Roasted Squash, Carrot and Spinach Lasagna imperfectlydelicious.com - October 29, 2012

    […] came home and was craving some veggies for dinner.  I stared at the frozen remains of my Roasted Squash and Carrot Soup looking for inspiration and had a food epiphany!  I quickly headed to the store for my final […]

Leave a Reply

