Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

2 Dec

Today my sweet tooth won out, sigh.  I’ve been eating healthy all week to recover from my  turkey bender last week.  I was cleaning my kitchen and putting away my groceries, when I noticed a lonely little can of pumpkin left in my cabinet.  Actually, a bag of mini chocolate chips hit me in the head when I opened my cabinet as I attempted to restock my olive oil, and I then spotted the pumpkinI took the not so subtle hint that I deserved a reward and whipped up this Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread (adapted from Alton Brown)

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 and 1/2 cups sugar
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 15 oz can of pumpkin (not pie filling)
  • 1/2  cup mini semi-sweet baking chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.  Whisk the flour, cinnamon, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt together.

In a separate bowl, mix the sugar, vegetable oil, eggs, and vanilla. Combine both mixtures, and add the pumpkin. Once combined, add the chocolate chips to the batter, and stir. 

Pour batter into a non stick 9 by 5 by 3-inch loaf pan.  If your pan is not non stick coat it with butter and flour.  Bake for 1 hour and 15 mins.  At this point a knife inserted into the middle of the loaf should come out clean.  Cool for 15 minutes if you can wait, and turn out onto a cooling rack.

You could also turn this recipe into adorable muffins.  Prepare the same batter and bake in muffin tins for 30 mins at 325 degrees.

So have a slice!  You know you earned it ;).

One Response to “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread”

  1. JK December 6, 2011 at 1:47 am #

    if i had a bag of chocolate chips hit me on the head, i’d probably just melt it into one giant choco bar. but that’s why i don’t blog about food! 😉

Leave a Reply

